Dear fellow forum members, I would like to remind you about the confidential nature of the documents the Centre made available for us, thus I ask of you to refrain from posting links to the documents provided, especially the SHORTLIST and the list of HOST COMPANIES on the public part of the forums.

Thank you

––– Airdawg

Resources for learning Japanese

Vulcanus in Japan 2017-2018 Forum.
The Programme's main forum.
Here you will find pretty much everything related to Vulcanus in Japan. Information about this session and also previous sessions - applications, shortlisting, selection, etc.

English is mandatory.

Moderators: yez, Ktrn

comotovi
Shortlisted Member

Resources for learning Japanese

Postby comotovi » 01 Mar 2017, 15:55

Hi everyone!
I've been shortlisted and I've been learning Japanese for a couple of months, so I just thought I'd share some of the resources I've been using so far. And if you have any other tips, feel free to post them too :D

For introductory grammar etc, I bought two books off of Amazon and they're, in my opinion quite neat and easy to follow:
I bought "Practice Makes Perfect - Basic Japanese" and "Practice Makes Perfect - Complete Japanese Grammar", both by Eriko Saito. I also have them in pdf form in case anyone would like them that way! Let me know ;)

I'm using this free app called "Kanji Study" and it works SO well on my Android. It helps you memorize hiragana, katakana AND kanji and you can choose from learning by flashcard, writing/strokes and multi choice questions. The app is offline so I use it every time I'm going to school, so I easily spend at least half an hour a day practicing vocabulary. The kanji feature is really neat too; it ranks them after level of difficulty and importance, which is helpful.